Recovery through healthy indulgence – my ethnic food fiesta

I am an avid foodie, and this was the reason why I was extremely overweight for the majority of my life. In an effort to lose weight, I found myself giving up a lot of the foods that I loved. Eventually, I just stopped going out to explore new cuisines and restaurants – I had a fear of overeating, so employed the “all or nothing” mentality and just boycotted eating out.

My journey to recovering from HA has taught me a lot about self control and really listening to my body – this is called intuitive eating. Because I am no longer depriving my body of calories and nutrients, I am able to enjoy the foods that I am craving without over-indulging. I still track my calories, only because I want to prevent the tendency to binge!

For all you lovely ladies on the road to recovery, indulge in some middle eastern delights for fresh tasting, flavorful, and nutritious foods. Here are some of my favorites:

1. Lebneh – this is a delicious yogurt dip that is packed with protein, healthy fats, and calcium. It is also packed with probiotics to keep your gut healthy!

Image Source: http://food52.com/blog/4547-homemade-labneh

2. Tabouli – this parsley – based salad is super refreshing, and parsley is a herb that is often used as a natural remedy to treat amenorrhea!

Tabbouleh is a refreshing salad made with bulghur wheat, cucumbers, tomatoes, parsley, and mint. If you haven't tried it yet you're missing out! It's delish!

Image Source: http://food52.com/recipes/29842-my-mother-s-lebanese-tabbouleh

3. Hummus – this olive oil and chickpea – based dip is a great tasting source of healthy fats and protein!

Image Source: http://alldayidreamaboutfood.com/2011/03/spicy-chipotle-hummus.html

3. Babaganoosh – this is an egg plant-based dip, and I recommend ordering the yogurt based version (if available), which packs in a healthy kick of calcium, protein, and probiotics, along with phenomenal flavor.

Grilled Baba Ghanoush

Image Source: http://food52.com/recipes/6574-grilled-baba-ghanoush

Leave a Reply

