Sometimes, you’re just hungry, and that’s OK!

Over-Snacking?

So I am trying my best to not constantly think about food, and one of my ways of doing this is to reduce how many times I eat in a day. I had got up to eating about 8-10 times per day. In doing so, I was trying to minimize my caloric intake at every meal. I did this because I was constantly afraid to be hungry and overeat at any given point in a day. I figured that eating smaller, more frequent meals, would help me curb my frequent hunger. The drawback? I began to constantly think about food; I was continuously planning my next meal, and this was because I would never fully satisfy my hunger.

Wholesome Nutrition

I am now making an effort to eat about 6, more wholesome meals in a given day – this way, I hope that I will stop thinking about food all the time. Food is an important component of our lives, but it certainly should not be on our minds all of the time. This is how food and eating become unnecessary stress. That being said, given that I am still tracking calories, I sometimes stress about eating closer to 2000 calories, and have caught myself feeling guilty if I exceed 1900 calories. It is important to understand and accept that on some days, we are just more hungry. I am trying to transition to a healthier mindset around food – if I am eating filling and nutritious foods, but my body still wants more, then I am going to listen to it and feed it up to 2000 calories a day. Who knows, I just may not be as hungry the next day, or the next week.

Guilt-Free Feeding

This is certainly a work-in-progress for me, but here’s a plug to, collectively, let-go of the fear and guilt associated with food. I catch myself, scared to gain weight, worrying about letting myself eat up to 2000 calories a day. “What if my body just gets used to 2000 calories and starts to want that every single day? That would put me at 1400 calories more per week than if I were eating only 1800 calories per day.” Well you know what, no one knows what tomorrow holds – if I feel just as hungry tomorrow, so be it, and if I don’t, so be it. Here’s to just letting go and not feeling guilty about eating the 2,000 calories!

My Typical Monday

One thing I wished more HA bloggers talked about is what their typical day looks like, in terms of food. After all, a huge part of the recovery process is rooted in nutrition. So here is my typical Monday:

5:00 AM (before heading to the airport): I woke up super hungry, and decided that I couldn’t wait till I got to the airport to eat breakfast, so I ate 1/2 cup of Nature’s Path Flax Plus cereal with 1/2 Cup whole Foods Unsweetened Soy Milk (108 kcal).

6:20 AM (at the airport): Organic steel-cute oatmeal with blueberries, and 1 cup of black coffee (228 kcal). I also had my multivitamin, fish oil, and biotin (18 kcal).

9:20 AM (in-flight): Kit’s Organic Dark Chocolate Peanut Bar (190 kcal).

12:45 PM (keep in mind, I had a +2 hour time zone change at the airport): Starbucks Tall Soy Misto and Subway 6-inch turkey on wheat with guacamole, lettuce, spinach, tomato, cucumbers, and peppers (420 kcal).

2:30 PM (in-flight): KIND Dark Chocolate Mocha Almond Bar (200 kcal).

4:30 PM (in-office): Medium organic pink lady apple, and an earl grey latte using the Tassimo Cappuccino creamer (140 kcal).

7:00 PM: Nonfat Greek yogurt with about 1.5 oz of mixed berries, and 6 raw almonds, all organic (160 kcal).

8:00 PM: Grilled 4 oz salmon with approx. 1/2 cup quinoa, 1/2 cup sauteed green beans, and a little local honey (473 kcal).

9:30 PM: I was craving a little chocolate, but wasn’t super hungry and didn’t want anything too sweet, so I had 5 Somersault cookies (50 kcal).

Daily Total: 1,987 kcal

Happy healing!

Lots of love,

Girl Guilt-Free

Leave a Reply

