“Let It Go” – You are so much more than the number on your scale!

Today’s post is about letting things go 🙂 and of course, I had to name it after my favorite song from Frozen!

I wanted to give you all an update on my Hypothalamic Amenorrhea Journey, in 2 week increments (by the way, I am 5’6.5, so I just round to 5’7, haha):

Friday, March 12th: Diagnosed with HA; Weight – 127.5 lb

– Immediately following my diagnosis, and prior to visiting my Nutritional Therapist, I assumed I would need to up my caloric intake to well over 2000 calories, and that I would have to gain weight.

– I ate 2200 calories, on the weekend immediately following my diagnosis, but then switched to a 1800 – 2000 calorie range after seeing the nutritional therapist.

– I took a weekend trip for a friend’s birthday, which involved a lot of dessert, indulgent meals, and alcohol, so I felt super guilty after that weekend.

– I did not let the guilt prevent me from eating, and I continued to eat 1800-2000 calories during the following week.

– I did not exercise at all – I may have taken one long walk, once.

Friday, March 27th: Weight – 128.5 lb

– I ate 1800 – 2000 calories (staying closer to 1800).

– I took another weekend trip, which involved a lot of dessert, indulgent meals, and alcohol, so I felt super guilty after that weekend.

– I did not let the guilt prevent me from eating, and I continued to eat 1800-2000 during the following week.

– I did CorePower Yoga Sculpt 6 times in these 2 weeks, and went to the gym on 1 day, where I did 15 minutes of spin, and 30 minutes of mixed lifting.

Friday, April 24th: Weight – 128.5 lb

– I ate 1800 – 2000 calories (staying closer to 1800).

– I did CorePower Yoga Sculpt 5 times in these 2 weeks, and went to the gym on 1 day, where I did 15 minutes of spin, and 30 minutes of mixed lifting.

Sunday, May 10th: Weight – 127.5 lb

– I ate 1800 – 2000 calories, but did not try to stay closer to 1800 this time, and even had a day where I ate 2200 calories.

– My weekly average was probably 1850 – 1900, with several 2000 calorie days.

– I focused on ‘intuitive eating,’ really trying to listen to my body’s hunger needs.

– I satisfied cravings like cookie ice cream sandwiches, and they even fit my calorie range.

– I did CorePower Yoga Sculpt 6 times in these 2 weeks.

Sunday, May 30th: Weight – 129 lb

It has now been 12 weeks since I embarked upon my journey to kicking Hypothalamic Amenorrhea in the butt, gently, haha. While I was not entirely happy with this morning’s weigh-in, I had to take a step back and put it all in to perspective. I had to remind myself that fluctuations are completely normal, and common. Back when I was at my lowest of 123.5 lb, my weight would fluctuate like no other on a weekly basis. I am trying to keep in mind how far I have come, and that it is basically impossible to have gained 1.5 ‘real’ lbs in these past two weeks given:

– I have not binged.

– I have not been sedentary.

– I have averaged under 1900 calories / day.

Of course that is easier said than done, and I was super focused on food today. Thinking about food ALL THE TIME, is certainly not healthy, which is why I decided to empower myself and uplift myself from a constant focus on food by blogging, and by doing the following:

– Eating fewer, more wholesome meals per day, so that I am not constantly thinking about eating.

– I am targeting 5-6 meals per day instead of 7-8, which I was doing previously because I had a fear of getting hungry and binging.

– Reminding myself that I am SO MUCH MORE than the number on the scale – I have come so incredibly far from the 200 lb days, and I don’t look bigger to anyone else! The number on the scale, again, could just be a fluke.

My plan for the next week? Continue to do what I did the past two weeks, and then (maybe) weigh myself again next weekend. If the number stays the same, I will test another week out. I need to keep in mind that I fly a lot, which may be causing the water retention, as may be my increased intake of salt. If the number increases, then I will consult my nutritional therapist.

I have a blood test to check my hormone levels this Friday, so I am radiating some positive energy for myself and hope that everything I have been doing has made a difference. 🙂

Happy healing!

Lots of love,

Girl Guilt-Free

Leave a Reply

