Fight the cold and flu, naturally!

Aye, cold and flu symptoms are no fun 😦

I am possibly the WORST sick person there is. Not that anyone’s really a good sick person, but y’know, not everyone is as dramatic as I can be lol. So whether it’s a cold or a little ache or pain, my mind decides it wants to be mega-unhappy when I’m sick. Now wallowing in self-pity and stressing myself out because of the sniffles and a sore throat is neither smart, nor ideal given I have bigger things to worry about (Hypothalamic Amenorrhea), which are only aggravated by stress.

That being said, I do prefer natural routes to recovery when possible. Recovering from HA is enough stress on my body, so I try to limit overdosing on symptom-suppressant medications.

Viruses – ODing on DayQuil or NyQuil isn’t curing you!
One thing to know – when you have a virus like the common cold, taking medications like DayQuil and NyQuil is only going to SUPPRESS your symptoms, and they are not going to ‘cure’ you. Your body is going to go through the full cycle of a virus, whether you like it or not. That’s why, I opt for natural symptom suppressants. 🙂

These are some of the herbal remedies I am using right now, and hope to be rid of this sore throat ASAP!

Note: I am not a medical professional, and am simply blogging about certain products that I have found beneficial. You should consult your primary care provider before starting any medicine or supplement.

1. Olive Leaf Spray – I use about 3-5 sprays (directly on my throat) about 4-5 times per day. Olive leaf spray is supposed to be an immune booster, and it works wonders on a sore throat! I got mine at Whole Foods.

Photo Source: http://images.iherb.com/l/BAR-70002-2.jpg

2. Umcka Cold+Flu – I chew 1 tablet, 4-5 times per day. I believe it is supposed to have the same effect as DayQuil, and it is actually kind of yummy, haha. Again, I purchased this at Whole Foods.

Photo Source: http://images.iherb.com/l/NWY-15161-4.jpg

3. Nin Jiom – this Chinese health supplement is PHENOMENAL. It seriously helps reduce all cold and flu symptoms. It is completely natural, so is also a great tonic to take on a regular basis. I dissolve 1 tbsp in hot water, which soothes my throat, and drink it twice a day. You can also drink 1 tbsp directly, without the hot water – it kind of tastes like cherry licorice. TIP: see if you can buy the sachets, it’ll prevent you having to measure out the liquid every time. You should be able to find this at an Asian super market, or online.

Image Sources: http://www.yinhealth.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Nin-Jiom.jpg; http://www.watsons.com.sg/medias/sys_master/back/zoom/8806528417822.jpg

4. Indian “Golden” Milk – turmeric is such a fabulous health tonic, and it also really helps sore throats and coughs. When I’m feeling lazy, I just add 1/2 tsp to 1 cup almond milk (the original Indian recipe calls for regular milk, but I find that can thicken phlegm), and microwave it for about 1.5 minutes (watch it closely to make sure it doesn’t overflow – turmeric will stain!). I usually throw in a couple of cardamom pods, cinnamon sticks, cloves, and some star anise. Fresh mint may be a nice addition too! In browsing the web for a pretty photo of turmeric milk, I found this delicious recipe on The View from Great Island‘s blog:turmeric tea recipe

Leave a Reply

