Nourishing My Soul – Supplement Series!

More on the Hypothalamic Amenorrhea (HA) healing diet. The following is a list of supplements I take in order to keep my lovely lady hormones happy. 🙂

Supplementing Happy Hormones

1. Multivitamin – I love this brand because it is made from organic whole foods, and is rich in probiotics, vitamins, and minerals that boost hormone health, immunity, and help reduce stress. I take 2 every morning (empty stomach is fine).

Image Source: http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/hpc/detail-page/B003DH7S20_everywoman_multi_main.jpg

2. Fish Oil – I love that this brand is all-natural, and is lemon-flavored which prevents the fishy aftertaste / fish-breath – Yay! I take 2 (1,280 mg total) every morning, with breakfast.

Image Source: http://www.vitacost.com/Images/Products/1000/Nordic-Naturals/Nordic-Naturals-Ultimate-Omega-Lemon-768990037900.jpg

3. Biotin – as I explained, when your body is under a lot of stress, it cuts back on functions that it deems ‘not essential.’ Believe it or not, thick, healthy hair and nails are ‘not essential’ to your survival my friends. A lot of women with HA, may experience thinning hair or brittle nails. Luckily (*knock on wood*), I didn’t experience huge changes in my hair or nails, but I did notice a slight thinning of my hair. My doctor suggested that I could try a biotin supplement. I take 1 (5 mg / 5,000 mcg) every morning, with breakfast.

Image Source: http://images.iherb.com/l/CLF-06506-14.jpg

4. Yogi Woman’s Moon Cycle Tea – I try to drink at least 1-2 cups a day, but I must admit that I am not very regular about it.

YT14-WomansMoonCycle-NewDesign-V1-3DLeft-300DPI-RGB

Image Source: https://www.yogiproducts.com/teas/womans-moon-cycle/

5. Traditional Medicine Healthy Cycle Tea – I like the taste of this one much more than the Woman’s Moon Cycle, and try to drink it 1-2 times a day. Again though, I am not very regular about this – whoops!

Image Source: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71CRbgQXy1L._SY550SX411_SY550_CR,0,0,411,550_PIbundle-6,TopRight,0,0_SX411_SY550_CR,0,0,411,550_SH20_.jpg

What about Calcium?

What I have not started taking is a calcium supplement, as several recent studies have associated calcium supplements with increased risk of heart disease. A lot of this seems to be due to the calcium carbonate used in these supplements. I therefore try to get my calcium from natural food sources (more on that later).

What about Vitamin D?

A lot of women with HA recommend taking a Vitamin D supplement. Per my blood tests, my Vitamin D levels were level (yay – thank goodness). If your Vitamin D levels are low, I would have a conversation with your primary care provider or nutritionist. Note that Magnesium is important to enable your body to absorb Vitamin D, so you may be asked to take a magnesium supplement along with your Vitamin D supplement. In my case, I try to get enough sun, and incorporate magnesium-rich food sources like in to my diet like bananas, dark chocolate, dried fruit, nuts, whole grains, and dark leafy vegetables.

As you may have guessed, I am kind of an ‘all-natural nerd.’ If any of you are on the same path to recovery from HA and have tried anything other dietary supplements, please feel free to share your story. Please remember that this blog is an open forum, aimed at providing a support system for women around the world. 🙂

Happy healing!

Lots of love,

Girl Guilt-Free

Leave a Reply

